FFRN at the SCMS Conference 2011, New Orleans, March 10-13

Several members of the FFRN were successful in submitting proposals to the annual conference of the Society for Cinema and Media Studies (SCMS).  The FFRN will be present with one workshop and two panels at the SCMS Conference 2011 in New Orleans, LA, March 10-13.

E19: Workshop: On Theorizing Film Festivals: Past, Present, Future
Chair: Ger Zielinski (Trent University)
Co-chair: Diane Burgess (Simon Fraser University)

Workshop Participants:

  • Ger Zielinski (Trent University)
  • J. David Slocum (Berlin School of Creative Leadership)
  • Lindiwe Dovey (SOAS, University of London)
  • Dennis Broe (Long Island University)
  • Alex Fischer (University of St Andrews)

F15: Film Festival Politics: The Political, Legal and Structural Discourses of Film Festivals
Chair: Skadi Loist (University of Hamburg)

  • Toby Lee (Harvard University), “The Letter of the Law: National Film Policy and the Thessaloniki Film Festival”
  • David Archibald (University of Glasgow), “Film Festivals and Politics: Anatomy of a Boycott”
  • Skadi Loist (University of Hamburg), “Legal and Organizational Structures of Queer Film Festivals”
  • Lindiwe Dovey (SOAS, University of London), “Twenty-First Century Film Festivals and their Audiences in Africa”

K3: From A-Festivals to Arthouse Films: Modes of Film Production and Distribution
Chair: Dorota Ostrowska (Birkbeck College, University of London)

  • Malte Hagener (Philipps Universität Marburg), “The Road to Venice: An Archaeology of Film Festivals”
  • Christian Jungen (University of Zurich), “Festival Fever: Survival of the Fittest in the Economy of Attention”
  • Dorota Ostrowska (Birkbeck College, University of London), “Polish Cinema at International Film Festivals”
  • Michael Talbott (New York University), “European Film Festivals and Contemporary ‘World Cinema’”

In addition to these three panels, there is at least one other panels of interest to film festival researchers:

I2: Cultivating Film Culture: Programming Art, Foreign, and Independent Film
Chair: Kathleen Feeley (University of Redlands)

  • Daniel Metz (University of Texas, Austin), “Prestige and Prurience: The Decline of the American Art House and the Emergence of Sexploitation, 1957-1972”
  • Amy Monaghan (Clemson University), “Always on Sunday: Miss Julie, Film Censorship, and the Birth of Janus Films”
  • Bryan Hartzheim (University of California, Los Angeles), “The National Imagination Factory: Intersections in ‘Japan Cool,’ Film Policy, and Independent Filmmaking”
  • Cynthia Felando (University of California-Santa Barbara), “Passionate Detachment: Film Festival Programming, Criticism, and Cinephilia”

The full program can be consulted on the SCMS website.

This entry was posted in conferences, FFRN and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *